Podcast Preview!

I finally recorded my first podcast last night! Today I am putting together a few effects for an intro to the podcast.

The first sound clip I am using is from a recording of my favorite goal ever scored. Some background of the goal; it was from the 2014 FIFA World Cup hosted in Brazil. It was the Round of 16 of the tournament where Colombia faced off against Uruguay. The specific audio in the track is from the moments leading up to and following the amazing goal scored by James Rodriguez. That goal changed the career of the young 23-year-old.

Above is footage of the amazing goal.

I am working on finding some kind of song to layer on top of the crowd audio. Right now I’m experimenting with an 8-bit song from Freesound.org. Last night before recording my 1st ever podcast, I decided I needed a title even if it was just for this project. Initially, I wanted to call it “La Banda Izquierda” which means the left wing. It’s a soccer term that refers to the left side of the field. After a quick google search, I sadly found out that it’s already taken. I had no idea what to title until I remembered that in Harry Potter there was a history textbook on Quidditch, the fictional game loosely based on Soccer. The book was called Quidditch, Through the Ages, so I (being a big Harry Potter fan) decided to call it Futbol, Through the Ages. My podcast is about the history of soccer and the crazy stories that have surrounded the sports throughout the years, so I thought it was fitting.

I had no idea how long my podcast should be and was worried about running out of things to talk about after 5 minutes. I surprised myself by speaking almost non-stop for 25 minutes, almost half an hour. I was pretty pleased with how it turned out considering how I had never done anything like this before. I’m excited to finish the project and hope only two editions of the podcast is enough!

Leave a comment