Project Proposal

I know I have posted about my final project proposal in the past, but I’ve decided to upload the official proposal that I turned in for class. I’m eager for any suggestions towards the project or your general thoughts!


Allan Torres
Pro. Royal
ATEC 3346
3/19/2017

Creative Storytelling Proposal

Ever since this project had been announced, I had been very nervous about what I would do. The main reason for my nervousness at the time was in part because at the time we were reading strictly graphic novels and many students seem to have a strong background and familiarity with graphic novels. In class, a few weeks ago, it was mentioned that the storytelling aspect of this assignment/project, did not need to be a work of fiction or a fabricated story. Once that was established I suddenly had many more ideas and became to feel better about the assignment. I have no artistic skill when it comes to drawing and very little experience with storytelling. When we began to discuss as a class all the other mediums that we could use, I began to feel excited.

I have chosen to use the platform of a podcast for my assignment. My decision for this was a pretty easy one; I do not have drawing abilities, I am still in the learning process of video editing, and I prefer to tell an actual story rather than invent one. I mentioned in class the other day that my podcast will be about Soccer and some of the most famous stories within the history of the sport. So, while it will be storytelling, it would be more specific to say it is story retelling, which I think is neat because while some may be familiar with these stories, other will be hearing them for the first time. I also mentioned that I already have a few ideas of what could be some episodes of my podcast. In the 80s and early 90s drug trafficking was taking a major toll on the country of Colombia, I think many are familiar with the stories of Pablo Escobar. However, many people do not know how he and his compatriots used soccer to launder money, and even rigged many games to see their teams win. It took a toll on not only the Colombian league of soccer but on their national teams as well.

Another story is the amazing underdog tale we witnessed just last year, Leicester City winning the British Premier League. Leicester’s team came from the second and third divisions in the U.K and advanced to the top level of the county, the Premier League. Once they climbed to the topmost expected a very low finish on the table of the league if not being relegated again, Leicester however, had other plans. The won the entire competition in a true fairytale upset fashion to become champions of the top division in British soccer.

Lastly, I would like to talk about the famous Busby Babes of Manchester United. Almost everyone worldwide has heard of the team Manchester United. At their peak popularity levels, many would associate them with the famous player David Beckham. But over half a century ago Manchester United suffered a major tragedy, the Munich air disaster. In 1958 the Manchester United team experienced a plane crash that left 23 of 38 passengers dead. In preparation for the telling this story I have reached out to a friend who is a Manchester United fanatic and upon finding out about my intentions with this project, begged me to tell this story. Obviously, I would do my own research to prepare but I would invite my friend Alex to be a part of it.

As far as resources I have my own personal laptop with Audacity installed to edit the recordings and I would be recording my sessions/episodes with a Zoom Mic from here at UTD. I also have a video camera but I have not decided if I would like to record these as well. I know there are many books on the topics I have mentioned in this proposal that I could use for research as well as documentaries and movies.

Since this project is a lot of “retelling” I would not need to worry too much about plots because I would simply be telling things as they happened versus creating my own timeline of events. So while the storytelling is different than a fiction I will still have to make sure to be clear and direct so as to not leave anyone confused while also implementing the use of new media with microphones, computers, and audio software. I have never done a podcast before but I am looking forward to trying my best for this project. My goals are to earn a good grade, have fun, make the podcasts engaging, hopefully, generate interest in a sport I love, and maybe even discover a new hobby along the way.

Leave a comment