New Media or Modern Media?

In this day and age, we have so many new forms of media as well as new mediums for said media. We have the internet which hosts a plethora of mediums to consume new media. YouTube, Podcasts, Webcomics, Netflix, Hulu, and Twitch. On top of all of those mediums there is also an insane amount of platforms on which one can advertise; Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Tumblr, and even Snapchat.

I asked a few weeks ago what is considered new media. The reason I posted this question is simply that we talk a lot about webcomics, but the internet has been around now for a few decades, at what point is it no longer new? The internet has certainly allowed for innovations and ideas that just a few years ago were unfathomable. The idea of being able to stream content with Netflix seemed crazy and even crazier was the idea that it would catch on. Many people remember illegally downloading music through services like lime wire; now most of those people would have no problems paying for an inexpensive service like Spotify in order to listen to any music, anywhere, at any time!

Something that is interesting to me is when two forms of “new media” come together. An example of this would be podcasts and YouTube. I have put a lot of thought into this recently because I am thinking of creating a podcast for my final project. Earlier I was asking myself what the difference was between a podcast from today and the radio from the ’30s and ’40s. Obviously, one difference would be accessibility. In the ’30s if you missed a radio show you were most likely out of luck. Today you can go back and listen to previous podcasts. Another difference is being able to listen to on-the-go with any of today’s portable and digital devices. Now when you combine a podcast with YouTube is where things get interesting. I listen to the Joe Rogan podcast from time to time. When I listen to him I seek out his podcast on YouTube rather than his podcast site. I feel more engaged actually seeing and watching Joe and his guest/s interact rather than just listening as if it were radio. I have always been a visual person so maybe I am biased but I think it’s interesting to see the two mediums come together.

joe-rogan-youtube

Joe Rogan’s Podcast on YouTube

joe-rogan-podcast-site

Joe Rogan’s Podcast Site

 

Leave a comment